7 reasons why procrastination pulls you down

Greatly simplified procrastination flowchart: "Do something right now -> No"

(this clever flowchart was copied from joeydevilla.com)

I may not be good at a lot of things, but there is one task that I excel at. That it is a self-imposed task and is detrimental to success is in confirmation with my personality I suppose. (Cynical cackle). I shall no longer keep you in doubt. I am dangerously good at… (drum roll)

Procrastination.

A long and tedious essay beckons itself to be written but I ignore it, wilfully and joyfully, insisting to myself that the girls need to be to taken to the park, and that I must read such-and-such article or blog (which of course has nothing whatsoever to do with the essay). Somehow the essay seems to be put off to that proverbial tomorrow, which never comes.

Here is a list of reasons why procrastination is for wimps:

1-      Wastes a load of time.

2-      Keeps you in constant dread and tension of that task and pulls at your positivity.

3-      Makes you highly unproductive: imagine: you are suffering from essay anxiety and in this precarious state of mind, you decide to chill with              some friends at a coffee shop. You will feel constantly bogged down and there shall hardly be any quality enjoyment.

4-      Makes the task seem like a bigger hurdle than it actually is.

5-      Puts you in that low energy mode. Somehow. It does. Take my word for it.

6-      You’re constantly lying to yourself. You know you won’t do it tomorrow if you won’t do it today.

7-      You’re risking ugly consequences.

So this is the time when I look stuff in the eye, glare at it and conquer it, and so should you. Like they say – JUST DO IT!

How do you handle days like when you can’t seem to get on with it? Share it in the comments.

Suggested reading:

http://www.lifehack.org/articles/productivity/back-to-basics-procrastination-the-good-the-bad-and-the-ugly.html

9 thoughts on “7 reasons why procrastination pulls you down

  1. Don’t know how to deal with it. I suffer from it a lot but also find that my mind is the most creative and innovative while procrastinating.

    Solution: Just do it. Force your self into doing it. Thats the only way to bell the cat.

  2. Yeah, I force myself that “I have to do it right now!”. Sometimes it works, often doesn’t. At times, the hope of getting rid of ‘tension’ helps too.

  3. Pingback: 7 reasons why procrastination pulls you down | Tea Break

  4. Ahhh…procrastination. I am quite good at it myself, too! I make a schedule the day before and then force myself to look at in the morning. If I don’t cross things out and get things done…it irks me and eats me up inside all day. The next day I end up doing it. My brother sent me an essay to edit today and I tried to put it off…but the more articles I read on productivity…the harder it has been getting to procrastinate. Have you ever visited http://www.productivemuslim.com. It has really helped me (especially their productiveramadan website during the blessed month).

  5. Thanks Sabirah! Yeah I do like the productive muslim website a lot, although I don’t visit it regularly. Sigh. Just can’t seem to get on track. May Allah make it easy for me.

    • This flowchart is so funny! I have been there where you think that you have just one more hour (day, week, second, whatever) and then you’ll do it for sure! Oh, and yup, I agree with you both that Productive Muslim is such a great site!

Leave a Reply

