Being ‘out there’

So yeah.. the YouTube video of me singing did moderately well. Nothing out of this world, but I had nearly 500 hits in 3 or so days, without a Facebook or Twitter or even an embedded video on the blog. And thank you to whoever left the likes and comments.

But as expected I deleted the video. I don’t know, it’s just something about being ‘out there’ for the world to judge and see… plus I NEVER like to show my face anywhere. I prefer to remain slightly mysterious. I turned down a great writing gig once because they asked for a small passport size pic of yours’ truly. And I’ve gone back to being hidden.. hehe. But it was okay while it lasted.

Okay if you don’t consider the gob-smacking feeling in the pit of my stomach when I feel like “Oh God, I look like such a moron! Who saw me? I hope it wasn’t anyone I knew” and when I generally feel uber-concious. So whew, it’s a bit of a relief. Honest.

No photo or map available.

But that doesn’t mean I won’t post another video in the future… I mean, if I ever feel like it again, the possibility is always there. Go figure. I confuse me too.

Share your opinion people.. would you feel confident enough to put yourself ‘out there’ — or is it even about confidence? Is it about privacy? Would you do it anyway?

Lets get a conversation going. 🙂

-M

 

9 thoughts on “Being ‘out there’

  1. Pingback: Mehmudah, show thyself. | Footprints in the Sands of Time

  2. Assalamualaikum dear,

    for me, privacy too, and also worrying about looking like a moron lol..btw i LOVED it..finaly got to see you..good thing I clicked and watched it right away before you deleted it! 😀
    hugs

Leave a Reply

