Oatmeal Cookies. You devil.

They’re yummy, they’re healthy (well, kinda), they take as little as 10 minutes to prepare, and the kids love them! And they’re perfect for school snack boxes and they will be ‘allowed’ (don’t ask, my kids can’t take anything remotely resembling junk food)! So why don’t I make them more often?

Crumbly, melt in the mouth, aromatic...

Crumbly, melt in the mouth, aromatic…

Top 5 reasons why I don’t bake oatmeal cookies more often.

1. Time. Who has the time? Between school runs, homework sessions where I basically pull at my hair, and studies (my own), can I actually find time to do (unnecessary) recreational baking? Yeah, maybe once in a while. But I’d much rather get dinner ready, know what I mean?

2. I end up eating a few… not a great idea! When you have a jar of fresh, warm, home-baked cookies on the premises, it gets just that bit harder to resist.

3. Lazy? When I finally get some time, I don’t want to go in the kitchen. I could read, write or simply play with the girls.

4. I don’t have any more cinnamon powder. Ha! Yeah, this is easily rectifiable, but until I grind some cinnamon (I’m not crazy about the store-bought variety) I have a perfect excuse! 🙂

5. I have to study! Currently I am doing the following:

S– Sleeping

T– Talking

U– Unlimited texting

D– Daydreaming

Y– Yawning.

I gotta get the act together. Right after I finish this blog post. Er.

cookies2

PS: My point and shoot canon with a big lens (Powershot sx30is, the very baby which has taken all pics on this blog) is not great with indoor light. I’d love a Canon EOS DSLR for such days. Someday… 🙂

PPS: If you want to bake them, this recipe is nice, but I don’t follow it exactly: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U4_X2qwLpqk

7 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cookies. You devil.

  1. Mmmm… can I order now a dozen?
    (btw your powershot has done a fine job, believe me)
    S.T.U.D.Y. are all very peaceful activities. If 90% of the world population would do this, we would have worldpeace… so what :-))

  2. You make smile and that smile grows until I read your last word and my heart is filled with a warm bubbling laughter. Perhaps as good as those oatmeal cookies of yours. (oh man, now I’m hankering after home-made cookies!) Mehmudah, you rock. Now go study 😀 hugs, Sharon

    • Haha, I’m glad you’re hankering after home-made cookies because then we get to see a post about them on your blog, am I right? hehe 😀
      Thanks Sharon, for the lovely comment. I did go study. The great effort didn’t last too long, sigh 😉

  3. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

    9187297799

Leave a Reply

